Genetic Counseling: Students

Web of Science

• Run a search in Web of Science.
• Sort results by Citations - highest first.

Google Scholar

• Run a search in Google Scholar.
• You can't sort by times cited, but you can see "Cited By" totals by each citation. 

Follow these steps to link to UofSC full text articles:
- Go to Google Scholar.
- Select the Menu icon (3 horizontal bars) in the upper left corner.
- Select Settings.
- Select Library links.
- Search for UofSC then select the checkbox for UofSC University Libraries - ViewIt@UofSC.
- Click Save.

After you run a search in Google Scholar, look for links on the right sidebar for ViewIt@UofSC.

1. Although PubMed is freely available, use the Library's customized link to search PubMed and access full text articles.

2. After you run a search, check the Search Details on the Advanced Search screen to see how PubMed translated your search. Look for your keywords being mapped to MeSH terms. A combination of MeSH and keyword search terms will result in the most recent results.

3. Be aware that phrase searching in PubMed (using quotes around more than one word, such as "postoperative nausea and vomiting") will turn off the auto-mapping to MeSH terms.

4. Use the MeSH database to identify search terms and apply subheadings to a search term. When you search the MeSH database, only search one concept at a time.

5. Use the Advanced link to combine your searches.

6. Apply filters to focus your search results. For example, you can apply article type filters, such as systematic reviews, meta-analysis, and randomized controlled trial to narrow your results.

7. Avoid the "free full text" and "full text" filters under "Text availability." These filters may exclude some of the journals you have access to via USC.

8. When you find one good article, click the Similar articles link below to see other potentially relevant citations.

9. Email or save specific citations by selecting the checkbox for the citation, then select the "Email" or the "Send to" box below the search box to see the available options.  

10. Use the Single Citation Matcher to quickly find a specific article you are looking for.

​All USC School of Medicine faculty, staff, and students have access to EndNote Online through the Library's Web of Science subscription. 

Using EndNote, you can:

• add citations for journal articles, books, web pages, etc. to your library
• download citations from databases like PubMed
• format citations into bibliographies using your preferred bibliographic style
• organize your references into folders or groups
• share your citations with others

EndNote includes Cite While You Write, a plug-in you can use to insert references from your library and format a bibliography while you write in Microsoft Word.

To learn how to create an account and use EndNote Online, visit our EndNote Subject Guide.

How to log in to My NCBI using your USC network credentials:

• Select Log In in upper right corner of PubMed homepage.
• Select the more login options box.
• Search for University of South Carolina.
• When you select University of South Carolina, a USC network login box appears. 
• Enter your main campus network credentials, not your SOM network credentials.

 Adding citations to folders:

• Sign in to My NCBI. 
• Run a search in PubMed. 
• While looking through your search results, select the check box for each citation you want to save.
• Click on the Send to drop-down menu on the right side of the screen, then select Collections.
• Click Add to Collections.
• Select Create new collection and enter a name for it. (There are some default collections created automatically that you can use.)
• Click Save.

To view you collections, select the My NCBI link in the upper right corner of the PubMed home page. Your collections will be on the lower right of the screen. Select the name of the collection or edit to view your collection.