SOM Library: Counseling and Rehabilitation: Databases

Drug Information

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Offers a complete suite of renowned clinical, educational, and USMLE prep content from leading books and references.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window AccessPharmacy has e-books and drug information, including titles on pharmacotherapy and pharmacogenomics.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database offering electronic textbooks, journals, First Consult, Procedure Videos, medical and surgical videos, and millions of images.
Merck Index This link opens in a new window
A classic source of information on chemicals, drugs, and biological. Contains over 11,500 monographs, including historic records not available in print.
MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window
Information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine, plus access to "Red Book."
REPROTOX - NOTE: Click on "Login" then click on green button on right that reads "Sign In With IP" This link opens in a new window
Drug Information Portal This link opens in a new window Provides a gateway to current and accurate drug information from NLM and to other key government agencies.
DailyMed This link opens in a new window The official distribution mechanism for the latest electronic drug label information approved by the FDA.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) This link opens in a new window Covers pharmaceutical topics from over 750 journals.

Finding Fulltext

E-Journals This link opens in a new window
Search for journals by title or ISSN. Includes electronic content from the SOM Library as well as from Thomas Cooper Library.

Tutorials

SOM Library Tutorials

A variety of self-paced tutorials are available to assist you with navigating databases.

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
OVID Medline This link opens in a new window
OVID searches MEDLINE in a structured manner. Provices access to full-text journals.

Databases - SOM Library
Dissertations & Theses
Contains citations and/or abstracts for over 2 million dissertations and theses. The database accepts over 90 percent of doctoral dissertations in North America and contains thousands of international titles. Additionally, the database provides 24 page previews for many recent titles as well as numerous full text documents.
PsychInfo
Citations from a wide array of sources covering both psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
REHABDATA REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present. REHABDATA results may also include abstracts from the international research collection, originally developed by CIRRIE. More than 120,000 documents are abstracted in this database. NARIC adds approximately 4,000 items to REHABDATA each year, including 1,000 international research documents. Four main categories of documents are included: (1) reports, studies, and papers submitted by projects funded by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (as featured in the NIDILRR Program Directory); (2) articles published in rehabilitation-related periodicals; (3) international research originally collected by the CIRRIE project, and (4) commercially published books. Some non-print materials are also included.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest worldwide findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science.

Evidence-Based Practice

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane systematic reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, the Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.

Evidence-Based Medicine Resources

My Profile

Steve Wilson

Email Me

Contact:

Center for Disability Resources (CDR) Library
School of Medicine Library
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC 29208
(803) 216-3206

Subjects: Developmental Disabilities, Genetic Counseling, Radiology, Rehabilitation Counseling, Ultrasound

Remote Access

You can access the Library's electronic resources from anywhere!

When prompted to login, you must use your USC network username and password (not your School of Medicine network credentials).

Check out these resources to learn more:

Accessing Library E-Resources video

Remote Access FAQ

To lookup your USC Network Credentials (i.e. Blackboard, Main Campus email, etc), go to Manage User Account. There you'll find options to claim your account, or reset password, etc.