Digital Collections

About the Digital Collections

These Books and Pamphlets were chosen from the 900+ volume History of Medicine collection housed in the Charles S. Bryan History of Medicine Room, which includes a wide variety of materials of importance to medical, historical, and sociological research.  More digital books on the History of Medicine are available through the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Digital Collections.

The School of Medicine Library Digital Collections are made possible through a collaboration with the University Libraries’ Digital Collections Department. The University Libraries’ Digital Collections is a member of the South Carolina Digital Library.

This project has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services, under Contract No. HHS-N-276-2011-00004-C with the University of Maryland Baltimore.

History of USC School of Medicine Columbia

A collection of photographscommencement programsdocuments, and scrapbook pages, all related to the start and history of the USC School of Medicine in Columbia. 

[BROWSE HISTORY]

Historical Medical Books

The titles digitized were chosen for their historical value, and range in date from 1716  to 1845.  This collection gives an indication of the kinds of medical books in the hands of physicians in South Carolina and reflects the education and training of doctors during the 18th and 19th centuries. 

[BROWSE BOOKS]

Medical Pamphlets

The USC School of Medicine Library has a small collection of pamphlets, mostly from the late 1800s. Pamphlets from Schering and Glatz, Park, Davis & Co., Lambert Pharmaceutical Co., H. K. Mulford Co., Johnson and Johnson and others are represented in the collection.

[BROWSE PAMPHLETS]