Skip to main content

How Do I...?: Library Research

Find answers to your library-related questions.

How do I...?

How Do I...?

Research

Find E-Journals?

Play tutorial

Search the Library’s E-Journals database to access e-journals. View a tutorial about searching for e-journals. 

                         
                    

 

               

 

Find the full text of an article while searching PubMed?

The Library offers three icons to help you access full text.  

The garnet USC-SOM Online icon means the library has electronic access to a particular article.

The white USC-SOM in Print icon lets you know that the library has an article in print.

The black Find Full Text @ USC School of Medicine Library icon appears next to every search result regardless of whether full text is available. 

If you do not see a garnet USC-SOM Online icon for an article you are interested in, select the Find Full Text @ USC School of Medicine Library icon to search for full text access.  This icon will automatically search our e-journals database for you. If no full text is available to you, there will be a link to request the item through Interlibrary Loan. 

You can also view a tutorial for more detailed information. 

Play tutorial

 

 

 

Find the full text of an article while searching Ovid?

Play tutorial

While in Ovid, use the "Find Full Text @ USC School of Medicine Library" icon to search the Library's E-journals database for full text access to the journal. The Library also purchases some journals directly through Ovid; in those instances you can access the full text of those journals by clicking the “Ovid Full Text” link on the right of the citation results.

You can also view a tutorial for more detailed information.

 

 

Find Resources by Subject?

View a list of all of the available LibGuides

Find the Impact Factor of a Journal?

  • Go to the Library’s Databases page.
  • Using the drop-down Alphabetic List, select Journal Citation Reports.
  • You can search for a specific title within either the “Science” or “Social Science” editions of JCR.
  • You can also view a tutorial or a handout for more detailed information.

Play tutorial

 

                              Play tutorial

Find out Times Cited for an Article?

You can search for times cited for an article using Web of Science and Google Scholar.

 Web of Science

  • Go to the Library’s Databases.
  • Using the drop-down Alphabetic List, select Web of Science.
  • In Web of Science, switch the “Basic Search” to “Cited Reference Search” using the blue drop-down arrow and fill in the boxes using the format shown. 
  • A tutorial is available here. We also have a handout.

WOS tutorial

 

Google Scholar:  View our tutorial or handout for more details on how to find times cited for an article using Google Scholar.

 

Play tutorial

 

                       

Find out what Resources are available for my Mobile Device?

View our Mobile Device Resources page.           

Learn more about the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Public Access Policy requirements?

View our NIH Public Access Policy Requirements page. You can also view a tutorial

Access Databases?

You can use the Databases page to access over 80 databases. The page is organized by categories, such as Medicine, the Sciences, and General Reference. You can browse the list or select a database using the drop-down alphabetic list.

Find resources for the USMLE exams?

View any of the Library’s USMLE LibGuides (Step 1, Step 2, or Step 3) to see the available resources.

Create a Poster using PowerPoint?

View our handout. Posters can be printed here. Additional tips are available here.

Find Tutorials/Learn how to use Library Resources?

On the Library’s Tutorials page, you can view tutorials and handouts about library resources and databases. We also offer other instructional services like classes and house calls.

Use the Center for Disability Resources (CDR) Library?

From the CDR Library’s home page, you can access its catalog, browse Subject Guides, and contact the Library’s Coordinator for research and reference assistance.

Find E-Textbooks?

You can quickly search the thousands of E-Textbook titles for which we have access on the E-Textbooks page.  The basic search is Keyword search, but after you search you can use the modify search box to calibrate the search results by date of publication or other data.

Search for a Book?

Search the Library Catalog to look for a book in our collection.