SOM Library: Introduction to Clinical Medicine (ICM-I) DMED D601: Home

Background Questions/Overview Information

- Part of the Essential Evidence Plus database, Essential Evidence Topics covers the most common conditions seen by primary care doctors. The topic pages include "bottom line summaries" with references and tabs by category to quickly jump to an area such as background, prevention, diagnosis, treatment, etc.

Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2019 by Fred F. Ferri; Iris Tong (Editor); Doyle John (Editor); Bernard Zimmermann (Editor); Samaan Rafeq (Editor); Richard Goldberg (Editor); Jerry Yee (Editor); Glenn Fort (Editor); Anthony Sciscione (Editor); Joseph S. Kass (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323530422
Publication Date: 2018-06-20
Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treament 2018
Publication Date: 2018
- Available through AccessMedicine under "Quick Reference" tab.
- Each disease entry includes essentials of diagnosis, demographics, clinical findings, treatment information, and more.

Additional Resources:

Access Medicine

ClinicalKey

E-textbooks - Search for e-textbooks available from the School of Medicine Library.

Drug Information

Micromedex

Authoritative, referenced drug information
Enter drugs, diseases, or conditions in the search box
Includes journal article references for summary information as well as level of evidence
Drug interaction tool

Patient Handouts/Information for Patients

MedlinePlus - a free, mobile-friendly web site from the National Library of Medicine that is geared toward patients. Content is reviewed and quality-filtered. No advertisements or commercial endorsements. Includes Easy to Read section and content in multiple languages.

Additional Resources:

Patient Education Handouts - From ClinicalKey. Search or browse patient education handouts.

Patient Education Handouts - From Access Medicine.

Screening

Recommendations for Primary Care Practice
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
Information for Health Professionals
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force

Health Statistics

CDC FastStats

Statistics by Topic from the National Center for Health Statistics (part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention).

Health Services Research Information Center (HSRIC)

A comprehensive list of data and statistics from a variety of sources. Each resource is reviewed for quality by the National Library of Medicine.

Citing Sources

AMA (JAMA) Citation Examples
From the School of Medicine Library.

Citation Management - EndNote Basic

You have access to a version of Endnote Basic through the Library’s Web of Science subscription.

To create an account, go to our the Web of Science Core Collection database. (It is also available from the drop-down menu on the Databases page.)
In the upper right corner, select Sign In then Register to create a free account.
After creating an account, you can go to Web of Science and click on Endnote at the top to access your account. Or you can go to http://www.myendnoteweb.com to login.

Two advantages of the Endnote Basic access through Web of Science are:

It offers hundreds of more citation style options than the Endnote Basic that is freely available to anyone.
Our Full Text Finder button automatically shows up next to your stored citations, so you can easily link to access full text (instead of downloading pdfs and storing them).

For more information on using Endnote Basic, check out their Quick Reference Guide.