Please check the copyright statements on the site before using the image. Most of the sites listed on this page permit users to download the images for non-commercial purposes, such as in for use in lectures, as long as the source of the image is included.
AccessMedicine Multimedia [SOM] - Search or browse the index of videos. To search for images, select "Advanced Search", then select "Images" in the gray toolbar below the search box.
American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank [Free] - Contains over 2100 images. Free registration required to download images.
The Cell: An Image Library [Free] - American Society for Cell Biology. The Cell: An Image Library is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes.
ClinicalKey Multimedia [SOM] - Elsevier. ClinicalKey has millions of images available to download to PowerPoint and over 13,000 medical and surgical videos. Select "Multimedia" at the top to browse.
Creative Commons Search [Free] - Provides access to multiple image search services. All of the results displayed in this search portal may not be under a Creative Commons license.
De Humani Corporis Fabrica in Color [Free] - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. A digital collection of the numerous colored woodcuts in the library’s first edition of De humani corporis fabrica libri septem.
GoldMiner [Free] - Radiological image search engine from the American Roentgen Ray Society.
Hardin MD Medical Pictures/Disease Pictures [Free] - Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa. This page is a subject directory of links to pictures from a wide variety of online sources.
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) [Free] - Mountain West Digital Library. HEAL is a digital repository that allows medical educators to discover, download, and re-use over 22,000 medical education resources.
Images from the History of Medicine [Free] - Provides access to images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
Kanopy [USC] - Thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases from leading producers.
Lane Medical Library’s Bio-Image Search [Free] - Stanford. A database of biomedical images with Public Domain & Creative Commons licenses from a variety of sources. It organizes your results by reuse rights.
LearningRadiology.com - Images [Free] - Developed and maintained by Dr. William Herring and other staff at the Albert Einstein Medical Center.
MedEdPortal [Free] - Association of American Medical Colleges. MedEdPortal is a free peer-reviewed publication service and repository for medical and oral health teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty development resources.
MedPix [Free] - National Library of Medicine. MedPix is a free online medical image database, which includes over 53,000 images from over 13,000 cases. The material is organized by disease category, organ system, and by patient profiles. The teaching file cases are peer-reviewed by an Editorial Panel.
The New England Journal of Medicine Figures & Multimedia [USC] - Search or browse over 900 images of common clinical presentations. These images can be used as an educational tool to help residents and medical students quickly identify common conditions.
NIH Image Gallery [Free] - National Institutes of Health. This site includes albums in categories such as scientific images, clinical research, infographics, cancer research, and more.
OPENi, an Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine [Free] - National Library of Medicine. Use Openi to locate abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature and biomedical image collections. It provides access to over 1.6 million images from about 580,000 PubMedCentral articles and 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports.
PMC Images [Free] - When you search PMC, it will automatically search the archive for relevant images and figures from journal articles. Thumbnails of the most relevant images will appear in an Images Results display in the upper right corner of your search results. (Images will not appear for searches that use Limits or Advanced Search features.) The PMC Images search tool will also be displayed when you search PubMed, as long as the search results meet a number of criteria, e.g., results with a minimum of 250 citations, filters are not active, the search does not include Boolean operators, the search retrieves a minimum of 4 relevant images.
Public Health Image Library [Free] - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The Public Health Image Library is an organized gateway to the CDC’s photos, illustrations, and multimedia files.
School of Medicine Library Digital Collections [Free] - University of South Carolina. Includes history of the USC School of Medicine Columbia, historical medical books, and medical pamphlets.
Specimens [Free] - A Flickr collection of gross and microscopic images of pathology specimens by Ed Uthman, a Houston pathologist.
STAT!Ref 3-D Human Anatomy & Physiology Online [USC] - The complete student study tool for anatomy and physiology created by Primal Picture's Inc. There are 20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more. Each module contains: An overview and clear learning objectives • Key concepts and processes • 3D image and interactive models • Narrated animations and illustrations • Quizzes and reviews • Pronunciation guides to key medical terms • Clinical case studies for each system • Clinical test • The effects of aging.
WebPath [Free] - The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education, Mercer University School of Medicine – Savannah. WebPath contains over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. Also includes tutorials and self-assessment items.
Yottalook [Free] - A free medical imaging search engine. Over 750,000 images. Developed and maintained by four radiologists.