Mobile Device Resources


AccessMedicine logo

Register for a personal profile to use AccessMedicine. The mobile version of AccessMedicine provides access to Harrison’s Online, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas, drug monographs, guidelines, and more. If you don’t already have a personal profile, just follow the four easy steps below to get started!
1. Visit from a computer within your institution
2. Click on “My AccessMedicine” on the top right
3. Complete the registration form, create your username and password, click “Save” and log out.
4. Log into AccessMedicine by visiting from your mobile browser.


ClinicalKey logo

ClinicalKey’s interface adapts to any phone, tablet, or mobile device. ClinicalKey’s offerings include: • over 1000 textbooks • over 500 journals • “First Consult” point-of-care clinical consults • Procedures Consult • drug monographs from Clinical Pharmacology • over 13,000 medical and surgical videos • millions of images that may be added to presentations • over 2,000 practice guidelines. 
There is also a ClinicalKey mobile app available for Android and Apple iOS devices. Download instructions are available here.

Essential Evidence Plus

Essential Evidence Plus logo

The Essential Evidence Plus search engine allows users to simultaneously search via keyword a number of evidence-based resources, such as the 5 Minute Clinical Consult, Cochrane Systematic Review abstracts, decision support calculators, and practice guidelines.

End-users must create their Personal Profiles from a computer within the USC IP range.
Registration for a personal profile is found under the My Account tab on the homepage.
Step 1: Go to Essential Evidence Plus from your USC Computer.
Step 2: Click on “My Account” in the top menu
Step 3: Click on “Register” in the “Access Your Personal Profile” box
Step 4: Fill out the “Personal Profile Registration” form
Step 5: Confirmation
Once you have established a Username and Password, EE+ can be accessed from anywhere on your mobile device by simply logging-in to

First Consult iPhone/iPad App

First Consult is featured point-of-care content found within ClinicalKey. A data connection is required for the initial content download and content updates, but is not required to use the app itself – making First Consult’s answers available anytime, anywhere.
1. Using a computer, go to ClinicalKey and create a free personal account. 
2. Using your iPhone or iPad, go to iTunes to download the First Consult App.
3.Upon downloading the app, select the option ‘I use First Consult and know my user name’ and enter your ClinicalKey user name and password to start using the First Consult app.

LibGuide/Subject Guides

Subject guides are created by librarians for students and faculty at the USC School of Medicine. Each guide will lead you to journals, databases, books, evidence-based medicine resources, patient information, and much more.


Micromedex logo

The Free Micromedex Drug Reference for Internet Subscribers app for Apple, Android, and Windows 8 devices is available for FREE for Micromedex customers.
You can access these apps via the iTunes® App Store (Apple devices), Google Play® (Android devices) or the Windows Store® (Windows 8 devices). Android users only: the app is called Free Micromedex Drug Reference in the Google Play store. 

You can activate the app by following the simple instructions below. 
1. Using your computer, while in Micromedex 2.0 online, select the Download Mobile Apps link near the bottom of the page. A page will load with passwords for each of the mobile apps. 
2. Using your mobile device, visit the iTunes App Store (Apple devices), Google Play Store (Android devices) or the Windows Store (Windows 8 devices) and search for "Micromedex," or click on the appropriate "Free Download" link below (next to the corresponding app store icons below). 
3. From all the Micromedex app results, select Free Micromedex Drug Reference for Internet Subscribers (Apple devices and Windows 8 devices) or Free Micromedex Drug Reference (Android devices). You may be prompted to enter your Apple, Google or Windows ID. 
4. The app should download directly to your device. (If you visited the iTunes App Store on your PC rather than your device, you may have to sync your device to iTunes on your PC, in order to load the app onto your device.) 
5. Open the app on your device. Enter the password to begin using Free Micromedex Drug Reference for Internet Subscribers. The password is case-sensitive.

OvidToday app for iPad

Ovid Today logo

Users will have access to all the most recent issues of our Ovid-subscribed journal content.  You need to create a free Ovid Personal Account to use the app. Download the free app from the iTunes store.

Psychiatry Online

Psychiatry Online logo

A  mobile-friendly website for searching Psychiatry Online. Creation of a free “MY POL” account is required for use. To enable your mobile device for off-campus use, you must  link your device to your My POL account with the instructions here.

PubMed for Handhelds

PubMed for Handhelds logo

Use PubMed for Handhelds to search MEDLINE with the web browser of any mobile device.

PubMed On Tap

PubMed on Tap is an application for iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad for searching PubMed. To retrieve full text articles, School of Medicine users need to go to Settings and use this URL for the proxy resolver. %@


Reprotox logo

Reprotox is a database that contains information on the potentially harmful effects of environmental exposure to chemicals and physical agents on human pregnancy, reproduction, and development. Iphone and Android apps are available. Publisher requires username and password. More information.

SciFinder Mobile

SciFinder logo

SciFinder Mobile allows researchers to use web-enabled smartphones to search the Chemical Abstracts Service databases and Medline. Using SciFinder Mobile, you can search chemical name/formula, author, and subject to retrieve articles, patents, and chemical properties.

SciFinder Scholar is available from Thomas Cooper Library at USC Columbia. To register as a valid USC Columbia user go here: Once registered, visit on your device to access SciFinder Mobile.