On-Demand Presentations

Library Liaisons are available for individual consultations, departmental meetings, or journal clubs.

The list below outlines some of the potential topics you can request. See the Library Classes page for additional topics.

Contact your liaison today to schedule a customized session to meet your group’s needs.

PubMed

Possible Topics Estimated Time Description
Accessing full text  10 min. Learn how to access full text journal articles from PubMed. 
Narrowing your search results  10 min. Overview of the available filters/limits and how to combine searches using the Advanced screen.
Using MyNCBI  15 min. Learn how to customize your PubMed search results, create Table of Contents and Search alerts, and add a library icon to quickly limit to full text. 
Clinical Queries filters  5 min. Apply filters for evidence-based medicine topics/high quality methodology studies or medical genetics search topics.
Using the MeSH database  15-20 min. Learn how to build a search using the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) database and add subheadings to focus your search results.

Ovid

Possible Topics Estimated Time Description
Accessing full text  10 min. Learn how to access full text journal articles from Ovid. 
Creating Ovid AutoAlerts  15 min. Ovid's freely available Personal Accounts enable you to create and maintain saved search strategies and AutoAlerts. The AutoAlert feature will run your saved search periodically, then notify you if there are any new matching citations. Ovid offers two delivery options for AutoAlerts: email and RSS feeds.
Using MeSH Vocabulary 15 min. Learn how to construct a search using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and add subheadings. 
Narrowing Your Search Results  15 min. Learn about the available limits and how to combine searches.

Staying up-to-date

Possible Topics Estimated Time Description
Email alerts  10-15 min. Creating table of contents alerts, citation alerts, and search alerts.
Has this article been cited? 15 min. Learn how to identify who is citing an article using Web of Science and Google Scholar.
RSS Feeds 15 min. An alternative to email alerts, learn how to subscribe to Table of Contents feeds and created Saved Search feeds. 

Databases

Possible Topics Estimated Time Description
ClinicalKey 15-20 min. Overview of the comprehensive medical content (e-textbooks, multimedia, and more) and search features of this database.
Cochrane Library 15-20 min. Learn how to search and access full text through this evidence-based medicine database.
PsycINFO database basics 15-20 min. Learn how to search and access full text through this database and use the times cited feature to see who’s citing an article.
Journal Impact Factors  10 min. Utilize Journal Citation Reports to find impact factors of journals and other data used to evaluate a journal’s prestige.
Web of Science/Science Citation Index  15-20 min. Learn how to search and access full text through this database and use the times cited feature to see who’s citing an article.
Google Scholar  10 min. Access the Library’s e-journals through Google Scholar and save search alerts for new content.

Library Basics

Possible Topics Estimated Time Description
Accessing full text Journal Articles   15-30 min. Tips for searching our e-journals database. This session can also include accessing full text journal articles through PubMed and Ovid.
Subject Guides/LibGuides 5-10 min. Subject guides are customized portals to library resources for departments or by topic. Learn how to navigate a Subject guide and see an overview of the available resources.
Library Orientation  30-60 min. Covers how to access e-journals, e-textbooks, databases, and print materials. Learn about accessing resources remotely and using interlibrary loan.
Mobile Device Resources  10-15 min. Many of our databases have mobile versions. Learn what’s available and how to access them.
Searching E-Books  15 min. Overview of e-textbook resources – R2 Library, ClinicalKey, and AccessMedicine

Other

Possible Topics Estimated Time Description
Evidence-Based Medicine Resources 60 min. Learn how to search the Cochrane Library, Essential Evidence Plus, PubMed/Ovid with an EBM focus, the National Guideline Clearinghouse, and other resources.
Resources for Patients/Patient Education 10-15 min. Learn about MedlinePlus, a free resource from the National Library of Medicine.  Patient handouts are available in ClinicalKey and AccessMedicine.