SOM Library: Genetic Counseling: Databases

Drug Information

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Offers a complete suite of renowned clinical, educational, and USMLE prep content from leading books and references.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window AccessPharmacy has e-books and drug information, including titles on pharmacotherapy and pharmacogenomics.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database offering electronic textbooks, journals, First Consult, Procedure Videos, medical and surgical videos, and millions of images.
Merck Index This link opens in a new window
A classic source of information on chemicals, drugs, and biological. Contains over 11,500 monographs, including historic records not available in print.
MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window
Information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine, plus access to "Red Book."
REPROTOX - NOTE: Click on "Login" then click on green button on right that reads "Sign In With IP" This link opens in a new window
Drug Information Portal This link opens in a new window Provides a gateway to current and accurate drug information from NLM and to other key government agencies.
DailyMed This link opens in a new window The official distribution mechanism for the latest electronic drug label information approved by the FDA.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) This link opens in a new window Covers pharmaceutical topics from over 750 journals.

Finding Fulltext

E-Journals This link opens in a new window
Search for journals by title or ISSN. Includes electronic content from the SOM Library as well as from Thomas Cooper Library.

Tutorials

SOM Library Tutorials

A variety of self-paced tutorials are available to assist you with navigating databases.

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.

PsycINFO
Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes links to fulltext articles.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences. The full-text of the instruments are not included in the database; however, HaPI can be used to:
- Discover what instruments exist;
- Track the history of an instrument over time;
- Locate ordering information for a known instrument.
CINAHL Complete
- Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
- A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals
- Provided by PASCAL, Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries
Web of Science
- Use this database to sort your results by Citations - highest first.
OMIM, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
A compendium of human genes and genetic disorders maintained by NCBI.

Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a comprehensive source for biomedical literature (36 + million records) from peer reviewed journals and conference abstracts.
OVID Medline This link opens in a new window
OVID searches MEDLINE in a structured manner. Provices access to full-text journals.

Databases - SOM Library

Evidence-Based Practice

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane systematic reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, the Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.

Evidence-Based Medicine Resources

Remote Access

You can access the Library's electronic resources from anywhere!

When prompted to login, you must use your USC network username and password (not your School of Medicine network credentials).

Check out these resources to learn more:

Accessing Library E-Resources video

Remote Access FAQ

To lookup your USC Network Credentials (i.e. Blackboard, Main Campus email, etc), go to Manage User Account. There you'll find options to claim your account, or reset password, etc.

APA Style Resources

APA 7 LibGuide
From Thomas Cooper Library.
Handouts and Guides
From the American Psychological Association.
Purdue Owl APA Formatting and Style Guide
Student Paper Setup Guide
From the American Psychological Association.
Create a hanging indent
From Microsoft. How to create a hanging indent for Windows and Mac.