• PubMed: Accessing Full Text. (Revised 9/20) Transcript (MS Word)
• PubMed: Article Type Filters. (5/20)
• PubMed: Finding Similar Articles. (5/20)
• PubMed: Search Details and the Advanced Search Screen. (5/20)
• The PubMed Cite Button. (5/20)
• PubMed: Clinical Queries. (8/21) Transcript (MS Word)
• PubMed: Using the MeSH Database. (Revised 4/24) Transcript (MS Word)
• PubMed Single Citation Matcher. (Revised 4/21) Transcript (MS Word)
A black Find Full Text @ USC School of Medicine Library icon appears next to every full citation record in PubMed regardless of whether full text is available.
Select the Find Full Text @ USC School of Medicine Library icon to search for full text access. This icon will automatically search our e-journals database for you.
Avoid using the Free full text and Full text filters on the Filters sidebar.
The Free full text filter narrows your results to only freely available articles (that the general public has access to) and does not include all of the journals the Library purchases.
The Full text filter will narrow your results to articles that are available from publishers electronically, but the Library may not provide access to it, so you may be prompted to purchase it.
By default, PubMed sorts your results by Best Match, based on relevancy.
A PMID is the unique identifier number assigned to articles in PubMed. It is listed near the end of a citation.
Here's an example:
If you know the PMID for an article, you can enter the PMID in the PubMed search box to quickly access the article record.
