Off-Campus users can use either their School of Medicine network credentials (i.e. firstname.lastname@example.org email account) or their University of South Carolina network credentials (i.e. Blackboard, Main Campus email, etc) to authenticate for the use of Library Resources. For an in depth look at the changes to off-campus access please visit this Tutorial. When you first click on a restricted link, the new login screen will look like this:
If you have an e-mail account through the school, you can use your normal Microsoft network (or Outlook) username and password. Otherwise, please email email@example.com. See below for the answers to some frequently asked questions.
Anyone can access the library's resources during business hours at the library. However off campus access is limited to University of South Carolina School of Medicine Faculty, Staff, and Students using their Microsoft Network Login information (the same login used to check your email) or their University of South Carolina network credentials (i.e. Blackboard, Main Campus email, etc). If you are a member of one of the above groups and you do not know your SOM Network Login, then please contact the Office of Information Technology at 545-5100. To lookup your USC Network Credentials, login to VIP (vip.sc.edu) and click Technology. You should see “Network Username” as one of the options.
Further, while the School of Medicine Library website is your portal for most Health Science Information at the University of South Carolina, there are many non-medical resources available through the University’s Libraries System.
PHR Residents and Fellows may use their Prisma Health Network Account to access the library’s electronic resources, the same credentials you use to check your prismahealth.org email account.
Through its Linkout technology/program PubMed offers links to a variety of full text journals, books, and other resources. For many PubMed citations, if you view PubMed search results in "Abstract" or full record view you'll see icons that link to the publisher/providers site to retrieve full text. In some few cases the link will be to free full text online, but most of these publisher/provider links will be to "pay per use" articles.
You can very easily link to many of the library's electronic journals while searching PubMed. All you have to do is click the special link to PubMed under "Find Resources" on the library's home page or use the PubMed search box on the library's home page, perform your search, and view the results in "Abstract" or full record view.
A black “Find Full Text @ USC School of Medicine Library” will appear next to each citation when you are viewing the abstract. The “Find Full Text @ USC School of Medicine Library" icon appears after every citation of the search results regardless of whether full text is available from the SOM Library or not. Select the Find Full Text @ USC School of Medicine Library icon to search for full text access. This icon will automatically search our e-journals database for you. If no full text is available to you, there will be a link to request the item through Interlibrary Loan and a link to search the library catalog for print.
Yes. The library's proxy server only works with specially constructed links that direct the proxy server to route the traffic to specific sites. You have to use the links from the library's homepage if you are off campus.
We inquire with all our journal providers whether they offer online access. When they do, we generally try and acquire this access. So for any journal that we have print but not online access it is either because 1) online access is not currently available or 2) the cost of the online access is too high.