SOM Library: Evidence-Based Medicine Resources: Databases

Core EBM Databases

Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane systematic reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, the Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials. (USC)

DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Clinical medical reference tool for diseases, disorders, symptoms, treatments, and Micromedex's evidence-based drug information.

Systematic Reviews

Search these resources to find systematic reviews.

Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane systematic reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, the Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials. (USC)
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP (Evidence Based Practice) Database The Joanna Briggs Institute is based at the University of Adelaide, South Australia. This database provides synthesized, evidence-based information for nursing, medical, and allied health professionals, including evidence summaries, evidence-based recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, and more. (USC)
Prospero From the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination - An international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care. (Free)
PubMed
Use Article Type filters such as systematic review and meta-analysis.
Ovid MEDLINE
Apply Publication type limits such as Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.
Embase
Select "Limit to" below the search box on the homepage to quickly access EBM Limits, such as Systematic Review or Cochrane Review.

Summaries of the Primary Literature

Search these resources to find critically appraised summaries of the medical literature and POEM summaries (patient-oriented evidence that matter), and summaries of primary studies that may change patient care.

DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Clinical medical reference tool for diseases, disorders, symptoms, treatments, and Micromedex's evidence-based drug information.

Evidence Alerts Evidence Alerts, a collaboration between McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit and DynaMed Plus, offers an email alerting system and a searchable database of articles that are pre-screened for quality and given a clinical relevancy rating. (Free)
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP (Evidence Based Practice) Database The Joanna Briggs Institute is based at the University of Adelaide, South Australia. This database provides synthesized, evidence-based information for nursing, medical, and allied health professionals, including evidence summaries, evidence-based recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, and more. (USC)
The NNT (Number-Needed-to-Treat) The NNT, Number-Needed-to-Treat, web site includes therapy reviews, diagnostic (likelihood ratio) reviews, and risk assessments created by the NNT Group. (Free)
Practice Guideline Resources

• 2 Minute Medicine is a physician publishing group from Harvard Medical School. Their reports review and summarize high-impact and current medical literature. Also available via AccessMedicine. Click here to subscribe to their free daily updates.

Primary Literature

Ovid MEDLINE - PICO Search
Ovid MEDLINE
After you run a search, you can access Clinical Queries limits by selecting "Additional Filters."
PubMed Clinical Queries Clinical Queries offers MEDLINE search filters for therapy, diagnosis, etiology, and prognosis studies.
PubMed
Embase - PICO Search
Embase
Below the search box, there are some EBM limits, such as Cochrane Review, that you can apply to your search.

Additional EBM Databases

Trip Database A meta-search engine of many EBM resources, including the Cochrane Library, e-journals, practice guidelines, e-textbooks, and PubMed. (Free)