M-I Library Orientation Tutorial 2023

Introduction

During this module, you will learn how to search for journal articles and access full text in PubMed and Ovid MEDLINE.

Next, read the content and watch the videos in the boxes below.

MEDLINE Database

The Library offers over 90 databases, but MEDLINE is the primary database you will be using to find journal articles. MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s journal citation database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE includes citations for peer-reviewed articles from more than 5,200 scholarly journals published around the world. There are many interfaces for searching MEDLINE; this tutorial module covers the PubMed and Ovid interfaces.

PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface for searching MEDLINE. PubMed search results also include additional biomedical content from the National Library of Medicine that is outside of the MEDLINE database. The default search box on the Library’s home page is for PubMed.

View the PubMed Tutorial. (4 min.) (Transcript-MS Word)

MeSH Database

Now watch the video below to learn how to search the MeSH database and apply a subheading to your search term to focus your results. (6 min.) (Transcript-MS Word)

Ovid MEDLINE

Ovid MEDLINE offers a different approach for searching the MEDLINE database. It walks you through your search and helps you focus your topic to a medical subject heading.

View the Ovid MEDLINE Tutorial. (4 min.) (Transcript-MS Word)