SOAR - Student Opportunities for Academic Achievement Through Research Program

​All School of Medicine faculty, staff, and students have access to EndNote Online through the Library's Web of Science subscription. 

Using EndNote, you can:

• add citations for journal articles, books, web pages, etc. to your library
• download citations from databases like PubMed
• format citations into bibliographies using your preferred bibliographic style
• organize your references into folders or groups
• share your citations with others

EndNote includes Cite While You Write, a plug-in you can use to insert references from your library and format a bibliography while you write in Microsoft Word.

To learn how to create an account and use EndNote Online, visit our EndNote Subject Guide.

How to log in to My NCBI using your USC network credentials:

• Select Log In in upper right corner of PubMed homepage.
• Select the more login options box.
• Search for University of South Carolina.
• When you select University of South Carolina, a USC network login box appears. 
• Enter your main campus network credentials, not your SOM network credentials.

 Adding citations to folders:

• Sign in to My NCBI. 
• Run a search in PubMed. 
• While looking through your search results, select the check box for each citation you want to save.
• Click on the Send to drop-down menu on the right side of the screen, then select Collections.
• Click Add to Collections.
• Select Create new collection and enter a name for it. (There are some default collections created automatically that you can use.)
• Click Save.

To view you collections, select the My NCBI link in the upper right corner of the PubMed home page. Your collections will be on the lower right of the screen. Select the name of the collection or edit to view your collection.