EndNote

EndNote Desktop/Online for Faculty and Staff

EndNote Desktop/Online is freely available for faculty and staff from the UofSC Division of Information Technology via Software Distribution on mysc.edu.

Follow these steps to download EndNote:

1. Sign in to https://my.sc.edu/software.
2. In the Personal section select, Purchase Computer Software.
3. In the Software for Work section, select EndNote.
4. Enter the quantity.
5. On the Purchase Details page, you will be prompted to enter your operation unit number, department number, fund number, and class number. Check with your department administration for fund numbers. 

EndNote Desktop/Online for Students

UofSC does not have an institutional subscription to EndNote Desktop/Online for students. However, UofSC has registered with the online retailer, On the Hub.  On the Hub offers discounted pricing for various applications, including Academic discounts for the full version of EndNote.  To access this discount, simply visit estore.onthehub.com, click register on the top right, then do so using your UofSC email address (“@mailbox.sc.edu”).

Difference between EndNote Online Basic and EndNote Online/Desktop

Getting started

After downloading and installing EndNote Desktop:

  1. Watch the How to Use EndNote in 7 Minutes video: Windows | Mac 
  2. Create your EndNote Online account via Web of Science.
    • To create an account, you need to start on the Library's web site. Access the Web of Science Core Collection database. (It is also available from the Databases page.)
    • In the upper right corner, select Register to create a free account. 
    • After creating an account, you can go to Web of Science and select Products in the upper right, then select EndNote to access your account. Or you can go to http://www.myendnoteweb.com to login.
  3. Sync your Desktop and Online Libraries. The Sync process automatically synchronizes both sets of references so that an exact match exists in both EndNote desktop and EndNote Online.​
    • In EndNote Desktop, select Edit then Preferences. (Select the "Learn more" link in the Preferences box for additional details about the Sync process.)
    • In the Preferences box, select Enable Sync.
    • Fill out the sign-up form, entering your EndNote Online e-mail address and password. 

Find Full Text Preferences

The Find Full Text feature will try to download and attach links to full text or PDFs for your references using the Library's databases.

Follow these steps to set up Find Full Text Preferences:

  1. From EndNote Desktop, select the Edit drop-down window and click Preferences. (Mac users: select the EndNote tab, then choose Preferences.) 
  2. From the EndNote Preferences window, select Find Full Text.
  3. Check all five boxes.
  4. For the Open URL Path, enter: https://pascal-usc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01PASCAL_USCCOL/01PASCAL_USCCOL:SOM?
  5. For Authenticate With, enter this URL: https://login.pallas2.tcl.sc.edu/login?url=.

Note: The Find Full Text feature will not attach all available PDFs and full text links. You may need to manually upload some PDFs, depending on the database and journal.

Additional Resources