EndNote

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a citation management and bibliography-creation tool.

Using EndNote, you can:

  • add citations for journal articles, books, web pages, etc. to your library
  • download citations from databases like PubMed
  • format citations into bibliographies using your preferred bibliographic style
  • organize your references into folders or groups
  • share your citations with others

EndNote includes Cite While You Write, a plug-in you can use to insert references from your library and format a bibliography while you write in Microsoft Word.

EndNote Variations

There are three versions of EndNote:

  • EndNote Online (freely available basic version)
  • Endnote Online through Web of Science (freely available for UofSC faculty, staff, and students)
  • EndNote Desktop/Online (freely available for UofSC faculty and staff; purchase required for students)

Endnote Online through Web of Science

​All UofSC School of Medicine faculty, staff, and students have access to EndNote Online through the Library's Web of Science subscription. With EndNote Online, your citations are stored in the cloud rather than on your desktop. 

Two advantages of the EndNote Online access through Web of Science are:

  • It offers hundreds of more citation style options than the EndNote Online that is freely available to anyone.
  • Our Find It Check for Full Text button automatically shows up next to your stored citations, so you can easily link to access full text (instead of downloading PDFs and storing them).
  1. To create an account, you need to start on the Library's web site. Access the Web of Science Core Collection database. (It is also available from the Databases page.)
  2. In the upper right corner, select Register to create a free account. 
  3. After creating an account, you can go to Web of Science and select Products in the upper right, then select EndNote to access your account. Or you can go to http://www.myendnoteweb.com to login.

EndNote Desktop/Online for Faculty and Staff

EndNote Desktop/Online is freely available for faculty and staff from the UofSC Division of Information Technology via Software Distribution on mysc.edu.

Follow these steps to download EndNote:

1. Sign in to https://my.sc.edu/software.
2. In the Personal section select, Purchase Computer Software.
3. In the Software for Work section, select EndNote.
4. Enter the quantity.
5. On the Purchase Details page, you will be prompted to enter your operation unit number, department number, fund number, and class number. Check with your department administration for fund numbers. 

EndNote Desktop/Online for Students

UofSC does not have an institutional subscription to EndNote Desktop/Online for students. However, UofSC has registered with the online retailer, On the Hub.  On the Hub offers discounted pricing for various applications, including Academic discounts for the full version of EndNote.  To access this discount, simply visit estore.onthehub.com, click register on the top right, then do so using your UofSC email address (“@mailbox.sc.edu”).